Why I Get Low

Please note that the views expressed below are solely that of the author (James Beale), which may or may not be held by other members of the band!

James Beale (State of Man) on bass at Atlantis Music Conference

James Beale (State of Man) on bass at Atlantis Music Conference

So, I guess the questions looms: “why/ how did I get into music?” Kind of a funny story actually. I was about 13 at the time and was forming a garage band in my town of Voorhees NJ. I would get together with a couple of friends from the neighborhood and we would crank up our amps to “11”..haha..I took the glorious task of singing (or attempting to) and it was kind of a mess. I remember the bass player wearing his dads military helmet from his tour in Vietnam and the drummer had a tiny kit with the name “Violent Society” scratched onto his kickdrum…so yep, we became the crappiest band in town called Violent society.

It was after our second practice (if you wanna call it that) that we decided that the bass player and I should try to switch up to see if we could make things any better. I guess any improvement was welcome at that time! Well now, I picked up that bass guitar and my life changed forever. I just loved the way it felt and how the strings played. It wasn’t long before I had picked up my first peavey bass and a Peavy TNT 150 bass amp to rehearse on. I started taking lessons religiously and learned how to play a ton of Led Zeppelin songs. (Needless to say I am a huge John Paul Jones fan).

My high school years ended and I went off to college at West Virginia University where I promptly started jamming in a college cover band to make extra cash on the side. The college band turned into something more and eventually I found myself signing a contract to come to Atlanta around the Olympics to open for nationals. So now you know how I got into music and found my way to Atlanta to ultimately meet the guys and put together the band we now call “State of Man”!

No Matter what, Follow your heart and your dreams and the rest will take care of itself!

James

Leave a Reply

